News & Events




Press Release



January 25, 2016


ACHS Jazz Band and Cowley Jazz Band teaming up for concert on January 26

On Tuesday, January 26 the Arkansas City High School Jazz Band and Cowley College Jazz Band will present an evening of music at Cowley College’s main campus in Ark City. The performance will take place at 7 p.m. in the Wright Room of the Brown Center. The concert is free and open to public.

“I am very excited to collaborate with Chris (VanGilder) and his students again,” Josh Fleig, Director of Instrumental Music for Cowley College said. “I think it will be a really nice evening of jazz music.”

The joint concert was conceived by ACHS Band Director, Chris VanGilder, shortly after he and his students participated in the First Annual Day in the Jazz Lab, an event hosted by the Cowley College Jazz Initiative last November. At this event, students from Ark City High School and Cowley College participated in a full day of interactive workshops geared toward developing their jazz improvisation skills.


“I think the Jazz Initiative event last semester was a great success,” Fleig said. “The clinicians were top notch and provided all of the students an opportunity to work on their improvisation concepts. It was really exciting to see that.”

The Tuesday evening concert marks the second ACHS/Cowley College collaboration in recent years. In February, 2012, the ACHS Concert Band and the Cowley College Concert Band performed a joint concert in the Robert Brown Theatre.

“We are looking forward to sharing an evening with our friends at Cowley,” VanGilder said. “It should be a great atmosphere.”

Members of the Ark City High School Jazz Band include: Chris VanGilder (director), Anthony Cruz, Lethander Flanigan, Libby Gregory, Abbey Legleiter, Sara Mort, Zack Wilson, Kate Austin, Deven Stewart, Geoffrey Waggoner, Blake Legleiter, Alyssa Looney, Jeff McPherson, Kaya Miers, Chelsea Riediger, Heyes Cannon, Bethany Ozbun, Justin Phillips, Maggie Krout, and Hans Judd (Ark City Middle School Band Director).

Members of the Cowley College Jazz Band include: Josh Fleig (director), Kiley Hernandez, Garrett Misora, Ramon Ortega, Aubrey Cowdin, Jacob Worm, Jonathan Lane, Evan Lyman, Mycheal Harrelson, Braylea King, Michael Burley, Gregory Coppola, Josh Waldorf, Woodrow Harmon, and Ty Spencer.