News & Events




Press Release



March 11, 2016


PTK induction and All-Academic Team celebration held at Cowley



On Sunday, February 28, Phi Theta Kappa had its annual induction ceremony and All-Academic Team celebration, officially welcoming 15 of 55 new members to the nationally recognized honors organization and venerating this year’s academic team recipients. 

A number of students applied for this scholarship in the fall, and through a series of essays demonstrating their leadership and volunteerism, two were selected from the Mulvane campus: Tabitha Slater and Taylor Swarts, and two were selected from Ark City: Samantha Twenhafel and Hannah Twenhafel, to represent Cowley College at the state level.

The academic team, who were also honored in Topeka in February, were presented with Phi Theta Kappa pendants, and their photographs that will be displayed in Galle Johnson were revealed. Fifty-seven people attended this ceremony that was conducted in the Earle N. Wright Community Room by officers Hannah Twenhafel, Tabitha Slater, Arnoldo Ruiz, Aishah Alhomsi, Joseph White and Sam McClaflin and advisors Deborah Layton, Scott Layton and Tiffany Corley. Officers and advisors said they were pleased to have administrators, board of trustees and endowment board members present for the occasion.

Guest speaker Dr. Dennis Rittle, Cowley College president, presented the members with an informative and inspirational speech on the organization’s pillars: Leadership, Scholarship, Fellowship and Service.

To this date, Cowley College’s local chapter Alpha Gamma Upsilon has a total of 130 members for the year and looks forward to future success. They are excitedly working toward their spring fundraiser to help pay for student travel expenses, a Super Hero Carwash, to be held on March 31.

Cowley College PTK inductees:

Aishah Alhomsi
Paige Bates
Rachel Burroughs
Kacee Campbell
Jessica Conway
Todd Cravens
Kelly Darby
Anna Davis
Ashley Doby-Collins
Kyndal Dutton
Trista Fechner
Tyler Felt
Bailey Gaither
Caleb Gash



Bridgette Gillespie

Vivian Gonzalez
Emily Graham

Emma Green
Carlyn Greene
Carly Gum
Michael Helms
Austin Hendrickson
Bailee Henry
Andra Hinkley
Kimberley Johnson
Nancy Lartey Nah
Paige Lundin

Alyssa Lyman

Bryce Martin

Brittney McNown

Charleslie Moore
Ale NguerreRamon Ortega
Keely Rocha
Michaela Rogers
Deidra Shiever
Colter Silhan
Billy Stringfellow
Collin Taylor
Sandra Vanlandingham
Makenzie Vining
Natasha Walker