News & Events




Press Release



April 20, 2016


Hannah Twenhafel named Student of the Year


Hannah TwenhafelHighly inquisitive, teachable, strong leader, respected by her peers, these are just a few of the words Cowley College president Dr. Dennis C. Rittle used in describing Cowley College sophomore Hannah Twenhafel, who was named the school’s Student of the Year during the annual Honors and Awards ceremony held Tuesday in the Earle N. Wright Community Room.

Twenhafel is an active student on Cowley College’s main campus in Arkansas City. She is a member of the track and field team, a Cowley Tutor, a student ambassador, Phi Theta Kappa officer, member of Chi Alpha, and a volunteer in the Science Department.

She was named the school’s September Student of the Month and was recently accepted into the Kansas University School of Pharmacy.
Twenhafel, along with the school’s other Student of the Month selections, were up for the prestigious honor of Student of the Year.

“I am overwhelmed,” Twenhafel said. “It is such an honor to be recognized as Student of the Year.”

The sophomore pre-pharmacy major from Nortonville, KS is the daughter of Rick and Chris Twenhafel. Her older sister, Katie, was a member of the Tigerette Danceline and graduated from Cowley College in 2014. Her twin sister, Sami, is a current student at Cowley and is involved in band and Phi Theta Kappa.

Prior to being named Student of the Year, Twenhafel was named Student Ambassador of the Year during the awards ceremony.

During the Honors and Awards ceremony a representative from each department at Cowley College honored students that have excelled during the 2015-16 academic year.

Kristi Shaw, director of student life, organized Tuesday’s event. While, Great Western Dining provided the meal.

Award recipients:
*Academic Excellence Challenge — Amy Austin, Harvey Baker, Daltin Brock, Alex Geurin, Chase LaPorte, Shane Kieffer, Garrett Misora
*Student Ambassadors — Ariel Abbott, Rachel Burroughs, D’Abreian Bush, Malori Clark, Tyler Felt, Bailee Henry, Mayrelee Kirgis, Avery Lewellen, Maranda Oak, Lucia Morales, Jaclynn Neal, Maddie Pegorsch, Caitlin Peters, Veronica Petkova, Alexcia Rodriguez, Arnoldo Ruiz, Julianna Soto, Hannah Twenhafel
*Outstanding Student Ambassadors – Rachel Burroughs, Tyler Felt
*Student Ambassador of the Year – Hannah Twenhafel
*Resident Assistants — Payton Baker, D’Abreian Bush, Soufiyane Diakite, Blake Graham, Morgan Hack, Zachery Heyer, Rhianna-Mae Laing, Dontavious Leak, Avery Lewellen, Justin McGregor, Madeline Pegorsch, Emily Reed, Christian Simmons, Joseph Stephens, Makenzie Vining, Kaitlynn Williams, Logyn Williams
*Cowley Student Senate — D’Abreian Bush, Jaden Mount, Maddie Pegorsch
*Cowley Tutors — Cassie Anderson, Parker Daugherty, Austin Hendrickson, Oscar DeLeon Lopez, Cera Magana, Quentin Noland, Harvey Puga, Hanna Twenhafel, Elizabeth Vishnefske, Joseph White, Kaitlynn Williams
*Cowley Activity Awareness Team — Morgan Bruce, D’Abreian Bush, Camden Estrada, Monica Perez Gonzales, Shane Keiffer, Quentin Noland, Maranda Oak, Arnoldo Ruiz
*Derek Burroughs Award — Makenzie Vining
*Health and Human Services Department — Josh Dobbs
*Business, Computer and Information Technology Department — Payton Baker
*Career and Technical Education Department — Levi Brandon Handlin
*Humanities Department — Hannah Winterhalter
*Natural Science Department — Ian McMains
*Social Science Department — Oscar DeLeon Lopez
*Visual & Performing Arts Department - Brianna Hand
*ACES — Daniel Carlos, Gage Hinson, Aspen Sanders
*Act One Drama Club/Theatre — Jonathan Lane, Paige Lundin
*Art and Design Club — Brianna Hand
*Creative Claws — Lucia Morales
*DECA – Austin Hendrickson, Ashleigh Huck, Alexis Phakornkham
*Diverse Tiger Club — Sara Andres
*Math & Science Club — Aishah Alhomsi, Elijah Rebold
*Media Club — Alexcia Rodriguez, Clinton Willis
*Multicultural Scholars Program — Oscar DeLeon Lopez, Paola Medina
*Phi Theta Kappa — Arnoldo Ruiz, Hannah Twenhafel
*Skills USA — Yovani Hernandez, Octovio Matamoros
*Vocal Music — Mairi Baker, Emily Lawson
*Young Democrats – D’Abreian Bush
*Students of the Month – Hannah Twenhafel, Caroline Fulbright, Elizabeth Vishnefske, Cera Magana, Samantha McClaflin, Brianna Hand, Paige Lundin, Payton Baker.