News & Events


Press Release



May 18, 2016


19th annual Duck Dash raises more than $22,000


Cowley Dush Dash

Enjoying beautiful surroundings, great food and entertainment, more than 300 people attended the 19th annual Great Cowley Duck Dash held Saturday at Winfield’s Spring Hill Farms. 


“It was great to see so many of our friends and donors out at the Duck Dash this year,” Cowley College vice president for institutional advancement Ben Schears said. “The support they give every year helps to raise scholarship funds for deserving Cowley students so they can afford to pay for college.”


The Great Cowley Duck Dash, which featured a duck race, raffle and duck squat, has raised nearly $300,000 for student scholarships over the past 19 years.


Dr. Dennis Rittle, Cowley College president, entertained the crowd as the emcee for the races.

Edward Jones was the winner of the duck race and the $1,000 cash prize. Jana Wooderson was the winner of the duck squat and was awarded $500. There were also raffle winners at the event and 694 ducks sold for the duck race.  


Great Western Dining catered the dinner.


Please look for the insert recognizing the sponsors in the Arkansas City Traveler and Winfield Courier newspapers.


Raffle winners:

*Remington 870 12 gauge camo pump action shotgun provided by Reedy Ford and Home on the Range – Brandi Gibbs

*Rejuvv’ Spa Package consisting of a facial, one hour massage, and reflexology treatment provided by Tracie Gordon – Kody Virden

*Four tickets to see Journey and the Doobie Brothers at Intrust Bank Arena plus a $100 gift card to the River City Brewing Company courtesy of Ben and Rachel Schears – Becky Tapia

*Cowley County Flyover, Wine Basket, and $50 gift card to The Eatery provided by B Four Flying, Friend of the Foundation and Joyce and Steve McArtor, respectively – Dianne Allison

*BBQ Basket provided by Union State Bank and $100 gift card to WB Meats courtesy of Steve English, Trust Company of Kansas – Dr. Harold Arnett.

*Duck race $75 heat winners — Lisa Grose, JC and Donna Louderback, Brooke Istas, and Chris and Johnice Dancy

*Losers Race Winner — Mark Richardson