News & Events

Press Release



March 31, 2017


Students have opportunity to hear from Kansas Supreme Court Justice


Kansas Supreme Court JusticeFor the first time in its 156-year history members of the Kansas Supreme Court visited Cowley College’s main campus in Arkansas City. Justice Dan Biles and Judge Bill Mott, out of Wellington, spoke with students, faculty and staff about the high court, its work, and the overall role of the Kansas Judiciary.

A question and answer session followed in the Earle N. Wright Community Room.

“Cowley College was honored to host Justice Biles where students, faculty, and staff could have a face-to-face exchange with an eight-year and counting veteran of Kansas’ highest Court,” Cowley College president Dr. Dennis C. Rittle said. “On behalf of the entire Cowley College community, I thank the Justices of the Kansas Supreme Court for availing themselves to our students and employees for a highly interactive and engaging session. Thank you.”

Justice Biles spoke of the three branches of government, the Executive Branch, Judicial Branch, and Legislative Branch. He also said the function of the Judicial Branch is to resolve disputes through the legal process, interpret and apply the law, determine whether a law is constitutional, and interpret the constitution.

Students have opportunity to hear from Kansas Supreme Court Justice“We hope to remind the students what they learned in middle school and high school about the importance of checks and balances of the three branches,” Justice Biles said.

Following its visit to Cowley, the Kansas Supreme Court conducted a special evening session at Southwestern College in Winfield where it heard oral arguments in two cases.

“We try to impartially decide who wins and who loses,” Justice Biles said.

Judge Mott enjoyed the opportunity to share how the constitution works with the people at Cowley.

“It is important to renew the understanding of what it was we fought for in our history,” Judge Mott said.

The Kansas Supreme Court consists of seven justices, each of whom is selected by the governor.

All seven justices were treated to breakfast Friday morning in the Earle N. Wright Community Room.