News & Events

Press Release



October 11, 2017


Eight graduate from Cowley College paramedic program


Eight stuidents graduate from Cowley College paramedic programGraduation for eight students in Cowley College’s Paramedic Program was held Monday, October 10 in the Earle N. Wright Community Room at the school’s main campus in Arkansas City. The program completed the AAS degree requirements for the graduates.

The following are the graduating members of the class: Janna Chanthabouly, Greg Simpson, Katherine Chanthaboury, Luke Steele, Brooke McDowell, Travis Unruh, Jennifer Patterson, and Michaela Youngers.

The evening began when Chris Cannon, EMS program director/Health & Human Services Department Chair, issued the welcome. Cannon thanked the graduates for their extensive work during the program, and thanked the graduates’ families for supporting them during a difficult year.

Deryk Ruddle, former lead paramedic instructor at Cowley College, delivered the keynote address to the graduating class.

Cannon and Steve Storm, former paramedic instructor at Cowley College, along with Cowley College President Dr. Dennis C. Rittle, conferred the certificates and presented the honor awards for the class. Brooke McDowell was the program honor graduate, Travis Unruh was the Lyle E. Eckhart award winner and Michael Youngers was the Dr. Patrick J. McAtee award recipient.

Cowley paramedic graduates treat more than 100,000 patients each year.

Cowley currently has three paramedic programs– one in Winfield at the Allied Health Education Center, one in Andover through a partnership with Butler Community College, and an online program through partnerships with Neosho County Community College and Flint Hills Technical College.

All graduates of the Cowley Paramedic Program were presented with challenge coins to honor their accomplishment.