News & Events

Press Release



July 7, 2017


Dylan Johnson awarded Brian Groves Memorial Scholarship


In honor of former Cowley College golfer Brian Groves, Cowley College incoming freshman Dylan Johnson was named this year's Brian Groves Memorial Scholarship recipient during the 23rd annual Tiger Skins/Brian Groves Memorial Golf Tournament held Saturday, June 24 at GreatLife Golf Course in Arkansas City.

Johnson is a member of the newly formed Tiger wrestling team. He attended Woodlawn High School in Arkansas where he was a three-time state finalist and two-time state wrestling champion.

Brian Groves (Class of 1998) was a member of the Tiger golf team before moving on to Southwestern College in Winfield. He was tragically killed in a one-vehicle accident in 2002.

With 18 teams taking part in the Tiger Skins/Brian Groves Memorial Golf Tournament, the event continues to serve as a successful fundraiser for Tiger Booster Club scholarships. Along with the 72 golfers, several area businesses helped sponsor the event. Community National Bank served as the Tournament sponsor. 

As for the golf tournament, the team of Brian Sanderholm, Aaron Sanderholm, Mike Sanderholm, and Don Shanks finished in first place in Flight A for the second consecutive year. The second place team in Flight A consisted of Dustin Quint, Stephen Jennings, Dave Colquhoun, and Brock Buckingham. The first place team in Flight B was made up of Cowley president Dr. Dennis C. Rittle, Daniel Rittle, Gage Musson, and Dr. Aaron Wilcox.

Members of the Cowley College Spirit Squad and Tigerette Danceline assisted with the tournament.

A drawing for door prizes and awards ceremony followed the golf tournament.

“The Brian Groves Golf Tournament is always a great opportunity for our Boosters, Alumni and Cowley Staff to enjoy each other’s company and show their support for Tiger Athletics,” Cowley College athletic director Shane Larson said.

Community National Bank served as the Corporate Sponsor for the third year in a row, while Rubbermaid was a major sponsor for door prizes and Creekstone Farms donated the hamburgers for the meal.

“We had several other businesses that sponsored holes for the tournament. Without the support of these local businesses we wouldn’t be able to put on this event,” Larson said.

Course contest winners:


  • Closest to the Line (Woman) – Suzanne Moore
  • Closest to the Line (Man) – Brent Burroughs
  • Closest to the Pin (Coed) – Steve Moore and Dave Colquhoun
  • Longest made Putt (Coed) – Brock Buckingham and Aaron Sanderholm
  • Longest Drive in Fairway (Woman) – Suzanne Moore
  • Longest Drive in Fairway (Man) – Brock Buckingham
  • Putting Contest – Stephen Jennings 


Tournament hole sponsors were, Ark City Glass, Ark Valley Distributing, Best Western Plus Patterson Park Inn, Community National Bank, Divall Liquor, Galaxie Business Equipment, Great Western Dining, Groves Oil Company, Kline Motors, Schaefer Law Office, Traver’s Furniture and Carpet, Midwest Electric, RCB Bank, Rindt-Erdman Funeral Home, The Stock Exchange Bank, Union State Bank, United Agency, Bob Juden, Ned Graham.

Tournament donors were, Community National Bank, RCB Bank, United Agency, Zeller Motors, Cowley College Bookstore, Rubbermaid, Elite Advertising, Dillons, and Kollege Town.