April 13, 2023

Arnau Sagrera-Barnet named Cowley College Student of the Year

Arnau Sagrera-Barnet getting the award

The whirlwind school year for Arnau Sagrera-Barnet continues as the sophomore mass communication major was named Cowley College’s 2022-2023 Student of the Year during the annual honors and awards banquet held Wednesday in the Earle N. Wright Community Room.

At Cowley he is a member of the nationally ranked Tiger track and field team, member of the Media Club, the Cowley College Media Ambassador, and a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society. He was named the September 2022 Student of the Month and was named a PTK Global Leaders of Promise Award recipient. He was also a member of the 2023 Homecoming Court. 

“Arnau is one of the most amazing students I have ever met in both spirit and talent,” marketing director Abby Morris said. “He is helpful, positive, and encouraging in all groups and teams he serves. He brings with him a large amount of gratitude that Cowley College has given him from his home country of Spain, which serves as a reminder to all that he is around that there is much to be grateful for.”

Sagrera-Barnet has a 4.0-grade point average and once he completes his college education he would like to become a film director.

“I am so thankful that coach Cameron (Rieth) brought me here to Cowley to pursue my dream,” Sagrera-Barnet said. “I want to thank all the faculty, staff and students that make Cowley a family.”

Award Recipients:

*Collegiate Quiz Bowl – Zane Hubble, Shaybree Hanes, Justin Aggson
*Derek Burroughs Award — Zane Hubble
*Student Ambassadors — Dylan Bishop, Jean-De Dixon, Lillie Dodge, Kori Ford, Kathrynne Giger, Chloe Lawyer, Felipe Mentz, Camila Neyra, Kinzie Pappan, JoEllen Reep, Sarah Robinson, Emily Smith, Mafer Sosa, and Maycee Wolfenbarger. 
*Outstanding Student Ambassador – Lillie Dodge
*Student Ambassador of the Year – Jean-De Dixon
*Resident Assistants — Laci Beougher, Mya Chapman, Virginia Jimenez, Esther Attwood, Jana Radovanovic, Boruch Skierkier, Gabriel Atienza, Jean-De Dixon, Cal Bragg, Renissa Cinnamon, Takeshi Taco, and Haden O’Toole. 
*Student Senate – Felipe Mentz, Daria Shchukina, Renissa Cinnamon, Tory Talbot, and Emily Howard. 
*Cowley Tutors — Maria Coelho, Treavor Green, Mason Ouellette, Caique Pereira, Daria Shchukina, Tory Talbot, Gabriel Perazoli Verona.
*Health and Human Services Department — Shayla Kinyanjui, Kaitlyn Ready
*Business and Social Sciences Department — Dylan Bishop
*Outstanding Business Student of the Year – 
*Humanities and Communication Department — Arnau Sagrera-Barnet
*Natural Science Department — Zane Hubble
*ACES — Clark Wynn, JoEllen Reep
*Act One Drama Club – Geshawna Francis
*Art and Design Club — Ayden Young, Shaybree Hanes
*Creative Claws — Daria Shchukina, Eden Williams
*DECA – Dylan Bishop
*Career and Technical Education Department – Zach Keen, Jillian Underwood
*Media Club — Luke Faulkner, Arnau Sagrera-Barnet
*Phi Theta Kappa — Shaybree Hanes, Zane Hubble
*Vocal Music — Cal Blagg, Micah Whitley
*Math and Science Club – Mason Ouellette, Sydney Hendrix
*Cowley Bands – Nikolai Crow, Ariana Castillo, KC Bennett

*Athletes of the Month – Rachele Tessari, volleyball; Santiago Nunez-Gonzalez, men’s cross country; Vivianna Solis, volleyball; Bruno Nhavene, men’s tennis; Laci Beougher, volleyball; Mekhi Cameron, men’s basketball; Maci Cole, softball; Boruch Skierkier, men’s tennis; Mariia Koroleva, tennis; Diego Andres-Dougan, men’s track and field; Esther Attwood, soccer; Melton Powe, wrestling; Arantxa Cortez, track and field; Chance Cox, baseball; Gracie Gilpin, women’s basketball; Lillie Dodge, Dance; Shunnosuke Nakajima, men’s soccer; Kyla Bonnarens, softball; Kayla McClellan, women’s track and field; Jaden Schneeberger, men’s track and field. 

*Athletes of the Year – Bruno Nhavene, men’s tennis; Arantxa Cortez, women’s track and field.
*Students of the Month – Arnau Sagrera-Barnet, Shaybree Hanes, Zane Hubble, Felipe Mentz, Takeshi Taco, Janet Wismach, Maycee Wolfenbarger, Lillie Dodge.